In the heart of Europe, you will find the unique city of Prague which is full of and abundance of wealth and architectural resources. One in particular called the "U trí pstrosu" (At the Three Ostriches).
The Hotel U Tri Pstrosu is found near the Charles Bridge. This famous antique stone bridge, Is a unique treasure expressing Gothic architecture, and was built by Charles IV, the Czech king and Holy Roman Emperor. The original house was built on the pier of Charles Bridge, which replaced the earlier Judith Bridge and was swept away in a flood.
During the period of the Hussite disorder, it was burnt down, but eventually rebuilt by Jan Fuchs, a supplier of ostrich feathers, who had the front No.11 of his house decorated with ostriches. To continue, the story says that ring the rule of Charles IV a foreign delegation that was carrying three ostriches as a present for the Emperor spent a night in the house. These three particular ostriches were to continue as the symbols of the house during the centuries that followed. It became the first coffee house in Bohemia, coffee that was brought by the Greek Deodastus Damascenus. In fact it is the aroma of roasted coffee that adds to the mood of Prague's Malá Strana.
For the fallowing centuries the House at the Three Ostriches - "U trí pstrosu" changed a range of owners, but it has never transformed its function. The purpose of this house is to host guests that choose to stay here. In the beginning of 20th century, the tavern was owned also by Mrs. Josefína MGllerová who was first letting out the house and later on she opted to sell it to Josef Dundra in 1921. This gentleman remodelled it in 1938.During this reconstruction the magnificent frescos were exposed and a coloured renaissance wooden ceiling was uncovered. During this same remodel, the stylish furniture was put in , as well as tiled hearth and lunettes featuring construction of Charles Bridge. All of this important restoration work was done by architects Zázvorka a M. Skvor, with the close supervision of Prague's conservation authorities in order to protect the precious treasures found.
In 1949, the restaurant was put under state ownership and the owners of the house - still the Dundra family - were forced to hand over the house to the state in 1961.
After thirty-one years, this architectural jewel was given back to the family of Dundr. It is now again a truly intriguing and wonderful place to stay while in Prague.
Give us your Feedback